Tags

, , ,

This summer I have, again, found a fantastic job for an aspiring historian.  While last summer I was a research assistant working on a digital local history project (woosterhistory.org), this year I’m interning at the Dittrick Museum of Medical History in Cleveland.  It’s been a really fun job so far, and one of the perks is that I get to be around beautiful rare books and antique medical supplies.  I can’t really take much credit for the beauty of these images–my iphone pictures I took in the basement can’t really do much justice to these artifacts.  Still, I thought I’d share some of my favorite finds! (You can keep up with my findings on my Instagram and after I leave, keep up with the museum’s Instagram)

Processed with VSCOcam with a5 preset

Martin Frobenius Ledermüller’s Mikroskopische Gemüths- und Augen-Ergötzung, 1763.

IMG_7944_2

C. G. Calwer’s Käferbuch, 1876.

IMG_7894_2

Various medications from Japan.

IMG_7906_2

Helleborous Niger, “employed as a stimulant to the menstrual flow when the patient complains of flashes of heat, burning of the surface, especially of nates and thighs, and sensitiveness of the perineal and pelvic structures; also in the treatment of hypochondria and hysteria.” Don’t mind the poison label underneath.

IMG_7870_2

Happe’s Botanica Pharmaceutica, 1785.

IMG_7668_2

Robert Hooke’s Micrographia, 1665.

IMG_7677_2

Robert Hooke’s Micrographia, 1665. (Ice crystals)

IMG_7863_2

Vincent Tagereau’s L’Impuissance de l’homme et de la femme, 1887 edition.

IMG_7858_2

Leeuwenhoek’s letters to the Royal Society of London, published 1684-88. These are the cork slices he looked at under his homemade microscope, discovering and coining the word “cells”.

IMG_7901_2

Distilled water. Prime candidate for snake-oil medicine status.

IMG_7948_2

Sylvanus Hanley’s British and Foreign Shells, 1856.

IMG_7661_2

Hartmann Schedel’s Nuremberg Chronicle, 1493. I got chills looking at this history of the world from the perspective of Europeans who didn’t even know the continent I’m standing on existed.

IMG_7869_2

Happe’s Botanica Pharmaceutica, 1785.

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

De Alchimia Opuscula, 1550.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Happe’s Botanica Pharmaceutica, 1785.

IMG_7872_2

William Withering’s An Account of the Foxglove, 1785.

IMG_7952_2

Edwin D Babbitt’s The Principles of Light and Color, 1878.

