Tags

, , ,

A couple of weeks ago, I took a brief trip to Chicago to get my visa for Greece. I stayed with a friend of my mom’s and was able to meet up with one of my best college friends over the weekend. Even though I was only there for three days, I wanted to take advantage of being in the city!

IMG_7237I stayed in a suburb of Chicago, in a cute little town called Clarendon Hills. I only walked through it by night, but it was absolutely adorable.

IMG_7245

IMG_7247

IMG_7248I kind of want to live in this toy store’s display window.

IMG_7250On Saturday, we went to the Randolph Street Vintage Market. If I had a house, I would fill it with stuff from here. I may end up with the junkiest house when I’m old, but it will most definitely be wacky and fun.

IMG_7251Also, this setup kind of makes me want an outdoor office. I can just imagine plunking out my Great American Novel on that typewriter in my Secret Garden.

IMG_7262We rounded out the day with an evening at Ravinia, listening to Joshua Bell and eating (lots and lots of) picnic food.

IMG_7266The next day, my friend Clare and I took the train downtown for a day of exploring.

IMG_7274I may have gotten slightly touristy.

IMG_7275

IMG_7277Eataly made our mouths drool, although the prices prevented us from eating all of the cheese and chocolate. We comforted ourselves by thinking about our upcoming semester in Europe, where we will most definitely be eating all of the cheese and chocolate.

IMG_7280In the afternoon, we walked up to the Newberry Library book fair on its last day, so we spent a significant amount of time combing through the leftover books for some gems. We each found a couple of books, but I haven’t started either of mine yet and they didn’t have summaries so I have no idea what I’m in for. At $1 each, though, I’m not too worried.

IMG_7287

IMG_7292

IMG_7293

IMG_7305

IMG_7302We had dinner at this farm-to-table restaurant in Lincoln Park. I was really impressed by the quality of the food we got for a relatively low price, so if you’re in the area, check out Range. And get the bacon fat-fried french fries. Trust me.

IMG_7311

IMG_7315

IMG_7326Finally, we took the train back out to the suburbs. Shortly after this picture was taken, a thunderstorm rolled in.

I’m in Seattle for the next couple of weeks, so I may or may not get the chance to post, but expect some Pacific Northwest beauty before I head to Athens! To follow my travels as they happen, check out my Instagram.

