Tags

, ,

One of my biggest inspirations is the animator Hayao Miyazaki. What I love so much about his movies is that he creates beautiful worlds for each story. Each world he creates has so much depth and is so beautifully rendered I wish I could step into each one of them and vacation there for a while. Since that isn’t possible, I decided to go on a Miyazaki-inspired photoshoot this afternoon. Some of the pictures I included in this set are from earlier this summer, but they fit so well I had to include them. While some of these places look like they could be straight out of a Miyazaki film, some of them simply instilled a sense of mystery in me and made me wonder what kinds of hidden worlds are out there…IMG_6654

This house made me think of the little town from Howl’s Moving Castle.

IMG_6683

This little scene also reminds me of Howl’s Moving Castle (which may or may not be my all-time favorite Miyazaki movie). It’s kind of how I picture the view of the courtyard from Sophie’s houseย crossed with Howl’s garden.

IMG_7110

I ran into some baby deer in my neighbor’s back yard and wondered if they were baby forest spirits in disguise. (From one of Miyazaki’s most well-known films, Princess Mononoke. Also a favorite of mine.)

IMG_7148

This shot of the library on Coventry makes me think of Kiki’s house. (Actually it made me think of a different house from the same movie, but this works too!)

IMG_7151

I’m picturing Arrietty climbing around in this cabinet while I sleep.

IMG_7157

IMG_7160

I wonder if any soot sprites live in this hole.

IMG_7168Finally, something about my neighbor’s garage is so Totoro, I have to wonder if it’s haunted ;)

Also,ย I now have a second blog: annasodyssey.wordpress.comย where I will be documenting my upcoming semester abroad in Greece. I will still post pictures here, but if you’re interested in a wordier blog about my experiences in Athens, be sure to check it out!

 

