Tags

, , , , , ,

Today was the nicest day so far this year in Ohio, a beautiful 50-degrees-fahrenheit-with-sun morning, with a little more cloud this afternoon. It was the perfect day for a walk around Wooster, and I did just that, wandering a whole 3 miles away from campus to Secrest Arboretum. This is a much-forgotten gem in Wooster, but I love how peaceful it is and it’s become one of my favorite spots.

IMG_0798

I didn’t have to wander for very long to find color–this wonderfully bright and eclectic house is about 6 blocks away from my dorm, and is surrounded by some really beautiful historic houses. I wish I could have taken more pictures of the garden, but alas, most was beyond the gate and I couldn’t get any really good shots. It was just as eclectic as the house though!

IMG_0804

Sandwiched between a Super 8 and a campsite I found this little river running below the highway. It looks like it would have been a peaceful place to wander before the hotel went up.

IMG_0811

The entrance to the arboretum. Even though it’s a research center now, the original farmhouses from its foundation are still around.

IMG_0827

Remnants of fall made for some bright pops of color.

IMG_0833

This must be beautiful in spring and summer–I can’t wait to come back.

IMG_0837

Oh hello, what are you doing in Ohio?

IMG_0840

I love the vibrancy of this plant, but I don’t remember what it’s called. I want 12.

IMG_0848

Not the most colorful picture, but I love the symmetry of the trees at the arboretum.

IMG_0852

This reminds me of the tiny shrines to shinto gods in the movie Spirited Away.

IMG_0862

IMG_0869

IMG_0870

IMG_0879

Little signs of life.

IMG_0883

I love these tiny blue berries–the delicate color is to-die-for.

It looks like we’ll have another few days of bitter coldness coming up, but then maybe spring? I know I’m rooting for spring, along with other Ohioans fed up with this long, brutal winter.

 

